Things THIS Radio announcer is getting tired of hearing.

desk flip

There are many things in life that tend to rub people the wrong way. For the most part, we as the human race remain respectful and polite about these kinds of things. (Yes radical extremists are another story, but for day to day life; I would say people are pretty good about it) However, everyone has a top ten, and mine usually revolve around my career. So; here’s a list of things I (and probably a few other of my fellow Radio peeps) are tired of hearing.

10. I’ve always wanted to get into radio!

Lets face it. You haven’t ALWAYS wanted to get into radio. You were once the confused high school student with no idea what you wanted to be when you “grow up.” Now, this isn’t the worst I’ve heard; in fact, radio is amazing and a fun experience. I encourage people to peruse it as a career, but don’t lie to your younger self, come on; you probably wanted to be a super hero once.

9. So are you like, Napanee famous?

Well, I guess so, if this is what famous is. My biggest fans are my family, which doesn’t make me the next Howard Stern or Dean Blundell… Most of the time, if I hear this or someone says “you’re famous” I’m kind of shocked, because I always wanted to be famous when I was younger. But to me, radio is my career, I love it, but I don’t feel famous.

8. “You said it was going to be nice outside today! Its (raining, snowing, crappy out ect…)

No. The internet told you that because, guess where I get my info? I don’t make the weather, I don’t control it. Mother nature does, and sometimes shes in a bad mood. If there’s a 40% chance of bad weather, it can swing either way.

7. “Have you ever considered working for (insert station here)”

Yes. No. Possibly. Right now I’m still pretty new at radio in general. It’s a tough industry and can be hard to find employment unless you’re willing to pack up and move. Some companies are hard to get in to and require more experience than I have. Right, now, I’m perfectly okay with working where I do. Home.

6. “So do you know (insert name here) He/She works in Radio too?”

Chances are I don’t know who you’re talking about on a personal level. More or less I’m sure I’ve heard OF them, maybe even shook their hand once. But do I call them up on a Saturday and ask them to make plans? No.

5. “Well, you’ve got a face for radio.”

Let me stop you right there. This is SO insulting! I get it. Not everyone is a hot bombshell of a human being. Some people aren’t outwardly GORGEOUS, but looks aren’t what got me this job. It was my personality. Also, when someone says this to me, it really hurts. As a young child I wanted to be an actress SOOOO bad. Then you grow up ad realize you don’t have the hair, body, personality, skills ect… But to blatantly tell someone they’re ugly, even in fun, can dig deep. You never know when you’re crushing someones dreams.

4. I’m a disk jockey too, think I could get a job at your station?

Probably not. We follow a certain format and you don’t get to decide what music you play. This is not a “do your own thing” industry. Anyone with some money and space could go out, buy the equipment and call themselves a “DJ” In my industry, we are called announcers. News announcers, morning announcers, afternoon announcers, over night hosts…. If you really want a job, apply here, check postings, see if we have an opening. But don’t think that because you can spin disk’s means you’re entitled to a job in the radio industry.

3. So can I get some free advertising for my event?

That’s not my department. If your event is for charity or helps out more than just yourself I will probably do a news story on it. That’s a small free-be. But if you’re looking to seriously advertise your business or event you’re hosting, you have to put some money into it if you really want results.

2. I could do your job easily.

Excuse me?? I’ve been working in my news field for 3 years and I still have a hard time. My job is more than just reading the news. It’s preparing it, hunting down those stories, editing, perfecting my craft, being able to speak to people outside the office. Plus, live on locations means needing to improvise on the spot or take very little detail and turn in into something exciting all while keeping it under 2 minutes. But there’s more to that as well. Cut-in’s are Minute to a Minute and a half, you need to be able to fill a minute, but not go over. Some events are doing a lot in one day, not every break can you talk about it all. My job takes skills, skills that some people don’t have. but by all means, come on in here and DO my job for me, use these programs like you know everything, no please, go ahead, I’ll give you some help when you need it.

1. “There’s no money in Radio, you should get out while you can”

I chose radio because it’s something I’m good at, something that I’m interested in and something I’m passionate about. This isn’t just my job, it’s my passion and my career. I LOVE this job! I don’t sit at my desk all day waiting to go home, most days there aren’t enough hours to do everything I want to get done. I chose radio because it’s what I want to do. Not for the money. But for myself, and that’s all that should matter.

Leave a comment